Org-roam for Teaching and Learning

I’m interested in using emacs and org-roam for teaching and learning chemistry. I typically provide skeleton notes (important chunks of textbook text, textbook problems, etc.) to the students in the courses I teach. (Course notes are not pedagogically innovative by any means. Students seem to find them useful though.)

I see org-roam as a (perhaps) unique mechanism to teach and learn chemistry. At the very least, I would like to create a separate, tagged notes for the chemistry concepts I teach in a particular course. I would then like to be able to gather notes and push them to other formats (online or hardcopy) for me to use for in-class discussions and students to use on their own. The notes would have to include graphics in some cases, chemical/mathematical equations, etc… I think the links would a great way of helping students integrate details into recurring themes.

I have no experience with org-roam nor emacs for that matter. I am just curious if org-roam might be a unique mechanism to creating generic content base that I could then exploit for novel contexts.

Thoughts at first blush? Other emacs packages that might support this type of work? Other resources I might want to look at? I’d like spend some time this summer poking at this idea as I learn emacs.

Thanks for any help.

You definitely can! It’s early days so I don’t think there are any full demos of exactly this yet, but I do know some other people have used similar programs for this type of work. Personally I plan on doing something like this, but it’ll probably evolve over the next two years. I’ll demo it then :wink:
Coming fresh into emacs also means there’s a learning curve for doing everything, so you just have to decide how much effort you want to put in :smile: But you can do it!

Several people have been putting together their own personal ‘brain-dumps’ that are perusable online, which is a stone’s throw away from simply a chemistry collection.