Implementing Hierarchies/Namespaces in org-roam (V2)

Hello everyone,

After taking a look at other tool called Dendron I was hooked with the concept of hierarchies, because they fits perfectly with my workflow and the type of content I write, so I want to show you what I’ve been working lately.

Why?

In my experience, pure zettelkasten is awesome for academic information, taking notes on books, and articles that are full of abstract concepts that don’t belong to any category but are inter-linked with other ideas. I use that a lot.

However since I work in the IT industry, I take a lot of notes on software and software architecture. This kind of information has a clear structure, a structure that repeats between information that belongs to an specific context. And here zettelkasten in my opinion is not the perfect fit.

I ended up having lots of notes like: data types in Java, data types in c… Repeating information in the title to be able to find specific notes.

This namespaces helps grouping and branching notes that are strongly connected but leaves the concept of atomic note intact, a note that you can still link with others that are related. Also, makes finding this references faster among all your notes.

You can find more on this rationale in the blog of Dendron’s creator, and some of the conversation I had about this in Org roam’s Slack

Disclaimer

I’m not writing this to suggest a new feature set to include in org roam, I don’t even know if this is aligned with jethro’s plans for org roam, I just wanted to share what I’ve been working on.

I was thinking on this more like a plugin for me and my friends who like the approach. Something that could work with the base project without disturbing the development

Currently this is just a bunch of functions in my config file that take advantage of org-roam code. I’m just learning elisp, so probably the code is not perfect, any suggestions or recommendations are more than welcome!

Features