Group links/tags in org-roam

Total newbie to org-roam here. Is there a way to group nodes in org-roam in the style of group tags in org-mode but across the whole database. I want to incorporate polyhierarchy in my Zettelkasten in order to summon information on the spot by filtering my database to a handful of nodes (top-down approach as opposed only having the option to navigate laterally from link to link to get to the information I want). Example: #animal (group tag for #cat #dog, etc.) AND #color (group tag for #red #black, etc.) would return nodes about colored animals like “Black cat” or “Purple dogs” without ever explicitly using the word “animal” or “color”, hence the taxonomies in the background.

P.S. I’ve used tags to illustrate my use case but I would want the taxonomies to apply to links as wells, whenever I’m refering to a concept really. I’m assuming tags and links are interchangeable.

So, I understand your use case here but the way you are thinking about it doesn’t really follow the zettelkasten philosophy on which org roam is based. The idea is you don’t need hierarchy because everything is so well linked with one another.

However, the use case you are describing is something that needs a solution and I have an idea for you. To my understanding, you essentially want to group nodes with these tags which are much wider in scope than the tags you already use.

The zettelkasten-y way of doing this is instead of using tags or something like that, create a node in your system with the name “Animals” and one with the name “Color” and then link every node related to those to these. These will be your “index” nodes, also known as entry points or Maps of Contents (MOCs) by some people. Then, you can look at their back links with the org-roam buffer, or use a backlinks searcher sort of thing.