Zettelkasten vs. org-mode

I’m an absolute beginner with org-roam and still in the “haze” of your typical vertical Emacs learning curve. I started reading about Zettelkasten, but when they talk about the “Principles of Atomicity” I had to pause.

That means that each Zettel only contains one unit of knowledge and one only.

or

In the words of us “Zettlers”: Create one Zettel per thought.

Basic org-mode really does not follow the Principles of Atomicity at all. Each “thought” in standard org-mode simply gets a new heading or sub-heading. Typically, the hierarchical nature of org-mode outline means many “thoughts” and their expoundings are on a continuum from general to specific as you go from Heading 1 on down into sub-headings. However, the diagram in the ZK intro shows a tree structure, branching off at each slight change of thought, while, again, standard org-mode typically keeps many “units of knowledge” together and linear – at least in the sense of reading an org-mode file from top to bottom. Question: Am I to understand that org-roam wants us to be more ZK-like, i.e., don’t make org files with multiple headings and sub-headings? Seems so. It seems ZK/org-roam wants to have an individual file for each “atom,” and that each atom is, theoretically at least, a graph vertex with links as its edges. OTOH, basic org-mode is just an outlining tool not too dissimilar to MS Word.

Before I found org-roam I was creating links between one main org file’s headings and many separate “supporter” files. Here is my default drawer under a heading 1 in …/SolToProbs.org

* Solution to Problem 4
:PROPERTIES:
:TIME: 2021-01-17T15:37:58
:ID: 9f04133e-301a-4c66-bd7e-de2e06d5afee
:EDGES: [[id:9ece8434-ce9e-40e6-8c68-8cced3b2d7e3][Solution to Problem 4 Aux]]  
:END: