The wait time org-agenda takes when you have your TODO items scattered around in your dailies

Now I have been using org-roam for six months, and I would like to mention one observation I have.

Before coming to org-roam, I briefly had used Logseq. Logseq is another program that lets you have zettelkasten-style notes on your computer. In Logseq, when you start the program, you are dropped into your day’s file. Each day you get a new day’s file. This is the same as in org-roam’s dailies pages.

Since I came to using org-roam from Logseq, I immediately liked the familiarity of org-roam dailies. And, I also center my org-roam usage around my dailies pages. I have specific org-roam pages I insert using C-c n i, but these are mainly empty files, just for aiding me in linking and finding links between org-roam subheaders scattered around different dailies (I use C-c n l to find references and thus find my scattered notes around a Book’s Title, for example).

Because of that, everything, including my todo items are scattered around the many daily files I have (I currently have 191 of them).

So, one thing I noticed is that when I access my org-agenda, org-mode has to scan all those 191 org-roam dailies files and check for TODO keywords. In the past, I mentioned that here:

Back then, it was taking org-agenda to complete this scanning 10 seconds or so. Now, with 191 daily files containing TODO keywords, I noticed that it is taking around 15 to 20 seconds.

This doesn’t render org-agenda unusable whatsoever. The 20 seconds wait time occurs only for the first time it builds the org-agenda view, and the subsequent calls to org-agenda seems to use the cached data and I don’t wait another 20 seconds. This is still acceptable and I will keep using it that way.