Making roam more...fun/attention grabbing

Hello everyone,

I need some advice. I have ADHD, and once I get bored with something it is really hard for me to keep up with it. One thing that keeps my attention is a challenge, especially with technology, so I’m likely good for a while. I am completely new to Emacs, and there is still a lot to learn.

With that said, it is likely that once I reach a certain point of knowledge and/or stuck-ness, I will become bored. I was wondering if anyone had any unique ways that they spice up their roam files? I was thinking of some sort of gamification. I also intend on adding images, quotes, maybe some ASCII art.

There is some major potential here to help me with the struggles of ADHD and I would like to continue to use it. I will be using Roam as a catch-all for anything I need help remembering, which is literally everything.

What are those things you do to make maintaining your Roam files not so repetitive? Anyone else using these tools to help with an ADHD brain?

4 Likes

I also have ADHD :raised_hand: Some thoughts in no particular order, and not necessarily only for org-roam:

If you spend a lot of time writing, Evil (Vim keybindings) is a great way to create little dopamine spikes when you learn to do something more efficiently.

Not specific to org-roam, but adding [/] or [%] to a heading that has tasks inside of it will show how many remains or how many percent remains, respectively.

Doom Emacs + (org +pretty) and also setting checkboxes with prettify-symbols-alist make for very aesthetically pleasing notes.

Organizing notes and thoughts into a hierarchy can be very satisfying. Came across it when evaluating Dendron, and was happy to see that there’s an effort to bring the hierarchical structure to org-roam: GitHub - vicrdguez/dendroam: Bring Dendron features to Emacs org-roam

If you use pomodoros, you can set a sound file to play at start/end/break end, which can be pretty fun. Mine are old Arnold quotes :joy: