How to write an atomic note

The question is not about how to use org-roam, but wonder how you guys write an atomic note? With atomic notes, we could link easily, as said here

Or in other words, how you guys define atomicity? Seems that both book of ahren and zettlekasten website did not discuss deeply about this question.

1 Like

Great question.

Keep in mind I’m pretty new to this too.

For me, when I start to think about adding multiple sections, that’s no longer atomic.

So I break into separate files.

If I want to reassemble them, I add a index/structure/hub note (we really need settle on one name for them) that links to the atomic notes.

Your criteria could be fluent when writing notes, but could be hard to retrieve info when searching through the graph(I guess).

Only if I was reckless with defining the title, I think.

@leekeifon @bruce
For information, now it’s possible to search through the graph by tags (#+ROAM_TAGS variable on the top of document). As a result, multiplying small notes is less of a problem if you fill in tags each time.

This functionality is quite useful for me. But I just limit to use it to categorize fleeting notes, literature notes and permanent notes so far.

I am asking myself just the same thing!

I am trying to implement the Zettelkasten method in my research in physics.
The problem is that it seems quite hard to separate an idea to atomistic units.
Every time I am writing a note, it continues to grow, and gets out of hand.
Are there some good tips in how to keep things minimal and well separated into different notes?

3 Likes

I myself might not have an appropriate method to guide you. But what’s in my head is that, when learning (especially math/physic), understanding on concepts are the most important stuff. So, it seems that the concepts, arguments(or said theorems/results that has a clear prove structure), assumptions and examples that help you understand the concepts, can be considered as basic type of your atomic notes.