Help needed whith configuration

Hi everyone!

This is my first post here and I would like to start by thanking @nobiot & all contributors for all this amazing job. :heart:

(Also all of you who contributed to this forum, some posts were a total life saver).

The Problem Itself

I’m a total noob in Emacs and until recently my configuration was a terrible wall of text inside a module option in NixOS. While that worked when I started hacking things together it has become hard to maintain quickly.

So recently I’ve decided to remake my whole config from the ground up. And do it in a literate way (since all the cool kids do that :sunglasses:). All was going well until I tried to configure Org Roam.

I’m having a bunch of different problems and while I’m sure most if not all are my fault I couldn’t figure out anything from the docs.

Issues

• Keybinding not working.
  • OrgRoam ignoring the configured paths.
  • Unable to use env vars for paths. (This might be a more general Emacs doubt)

The Config Itself

Here is my whole OrgRoam config:

(use-package org-roam
    :ensure t
    :defer t
    ;; Had some problems with those? I don't remember right now.
    ;;:require (org)
    ;;:hook (after-init)

:init
    (setq org-roam-db-gc-threshold most-positive-fixnum)

:config
    ;; I cannot figure a way to use environment variables insted.
    (setq org-roam-directory (file-truename "~/.local/share/emacs/org-roam")
          org-roam-db-location "~/.cache/emacs/org-roam/org-roam.db"
          ;; Uses the built-in sqlite database.
          org-roam-database-connector 'sqlite-builtin
          ;; Completion.
          org-roam-completion-everywhere t)

:bind ((C-c n f . org-roam-node-find))

:custom
    ;; Keeps the DB in sync.
    (org-roam-db-autosync-mode))

Thank you in advice. :slight_smile:

If you read README of use-package, I think key-binding needs to be surrounded by double-quotation marks, making it a string, like this:
:bind ((“C-c n f” . org-roam-node-find))