Help for installation of org roam in windows

I use Emacs only for org-mode for several years. But I still think I am just a newbie for Emacs.

First, please allow me to describe my installtion process. My computer using Windows 10.

1. I installed the package with melpha.
  2. I installed the emacs-sqlite3 package, downloaded the sqlite-tools and configured the path.
  3. I modified the org-roam-db.el as https://org-roam.readthedocs.io/en/master/installation/ says.
  4. I created the org-roam file directory, and put the following line (setq org-roam-directory "~/org-roam") in the config.
  5. I installed the graphiz and configure the path.
  6. M-x org-roam-db-build-cache OK. The org-roam.db was sucessfully created.
  7. I add (add-hook 'after-init-hook 'org-roam-mode) in the config and restart Emacs

The problem:

1. The start up process was slower than before.
  2. After start up there is message in the mini buffer: Query timeout error: "Query timed out", 30
  3. C-x b prompt let*: Symbol’s function definition is void: destructuring-bind, which I was binded to switch-to-buffer

Hi @ianian,

I would not claim to be an expert, but I have been using org-roam on Windows 10 myself, so let me try. I invite others to jump in where my attempt falls short.

I think Problem 1 is a bit expected, and Problems 1 and 2 in your case seem to be related. I would think Problem 3 is a separate issue, and may not be directly caused by org-roam or your implementation of emacs-sqlite3.

For 1.
How slow? Perhaps your Emacs won’t launch and return control back to you until you see the “Query timeout error” message? (30 seconds or more?).

The reason I say Problem 1 is expected is that, I think, org-roam tries to launch during the Emacs launch process because of your after-init-hook setting. As part of the starting process, org-roam tries to see if there is any update in your org-roam-directory that updates your dababase org-roam.db.