Where are templates defined

Dear all.

Sorry if it’s obvious to all of you, but I’m new to this and even after reading all the documentation that I could find (both the local info file and the site in readthedocs) it took me quite a while to find where/how is the template specified (not the way to define it, but how or where to do it).

After some searching appeared setq org-roam-capture-templates and voilá! :exploding_head:

Do you believe it could be useful for other new users like me to specify that in the documentation in https://org-roam.readthedocs.io/en/latest/templating/, where the example is, or maybe surrounding it?

Thanks a lot for your kind attention… :slight_smile:

Hi.

You’re right, we’re not mentioning the name of the variable in the doc. We’re not as diligent at maintaining the external doc as we are with the internal documentantion, i.e., the one you can access directly from Emacs (try pressing C-h v and C-h f` to look up variables and functions respectively).

We’re currently planning an overhaul of the manual, hopefully in a way that would allow us to maintain a single file which would output to many different format, both internal to Emacs (e.g. info-pages) and external (e.g. the readthedocs.io manual).

In the meantime, if you know how to use git, you could submit a PR on the GitHub tracker to mention the name of the variable, and help users which would potentially find themselves in the same spot.

Your diligence is not at stake at all. :smiley:
Eventually I found it in the internal documentation, but I don’t know how many people uses it. I just learned it a couple days ago.

The one source, many outputs is certainly great to reduce effort and increase coherency. What format are you evaluating? Org is one of them, I assume… :wink:
Maybe I can help giving it a read…

I will create a PR to leave it mentioned.

Done in https://github.com/jethrokuan/org-roam/issues/573.