Searching ROAM_TAGS (or properties generally)

I’m curious how one would use ROAM_TAGS in terms of searching or aggregating based on those values.

A basic example is just related to ROAM_TAGS. Let’s say I’ve marked a bunch of recipe files with #+ROAM_TAGS: recipe. How would I then search for all the files with that tag? If that’s not possible, what is the actual use of marking files with ROAM_TAGS?

A more complex example: imagine a set of recipe files that have other properties in them like, say, #+MEAL_TYPE. How could I search this property to get, say, all the soup recipes?

I’m new to org generally so it could be that my confusion here is also stemming from a confusion about basic org-mode. My sense is that in regular org-mode the practice would be more along the line of having fewer files with multiple entires in them, and that you might filter a single document to show only certain matching entries. Wth org-roam, my sense is that the tendency is rather to create smaller “atomic” files. But if that’s the case in org-roam, you’d want to be able to filter/match on these properties/tags across the files no?

Hopefully someone can set me down the right path here…

I am not completely sure in my answer, but that could be a starting point.

Partly answer to your question is in org-roam documentation:

tags are firstly for elist functions and commands, they allow to add metadata to the file that would influence for example how is that file displayed in an interactive command.

Overall in Org Mode #+something is a file property
Here #+roam_tags is a specific property that is created specifically for org-roam functioning
(And I don’t know specific examples for how it is used)

For your situation you could use org-roam linking
i.e have a separate org-roam file for “soup”
and from inside of each soup recipe link to the “soup”

Then on the “soup” page the backlinks would contain all the recipes