Questions about best practices for development for my own plugin

Hi org-roam folks.

I’ve been building an org-roam extension to try and replicate my Obsidian Bible Study workflow. My workflow is largely inspired by this: Bible Study in Obsidian Kit (including the Bible in Markdown) - Share & showcase - Obsidian Forum
I’m kind of new to emacs and org-roam so please be patient if I’m misunderstanding something.

You can see the link to my repository here: GitHub - sroerick/dabar
(This isn’t really meant for public release, I simply share it here to provide context for my question) (The code is ugly and bad, I don’t know lisp)

The extension is a minor mode which loads in an XML bible, parses it, and then provides a rudimentary interface for opening and reading a bible chapter.

My primary design goal is to be able to link to bible verses as I take notes, and to be able to see any backlinks when I read a chapter.

I implemented a new type of link e.g. “[[bible:Genesis 1:1]]”, which lets me link to an org-roam file. This is kind of the crux of my problem, and the question I have regarding design relates to this.

To take notes, I created a “org-roam/Dabar/” folder in my repository. Notes are then categorized by chapter. - e.g. “org-roam/Dabar/Genesis/1.org”. I settled on this schema because I wanted to follow the design pattern of not altering the org-roam database.

Currently, when I follow a “bible:” link, it opens the appropriate “Dabar” file. It then appends the chapter contents to the bottom of that file, which lets me browse efficiently. Refs are also created in order to show backlinking to a particular chapter.

I’ve been looking at ‘dtk’ package and others as well (Front end interface for ‘diatheke’ Sword cli tool)