Minimum configuration of org-roam v2 + org-roam-bibtex for spacemacs users

I would like to write down step-by-step instructions for setting up org-roam v2 and org-roam-bibtex on fresh installed spacemacs.

I am very new to org-roam and emcas in general. As a spacemacs user, I was looking for simple instructions with minimum configurations to have org-roam and org-roam-bibtex running. I didn’t find much information. I though writing down what I have so far might be helpful to others.

Please feel free to give feedback and corrections to make these instructions better.

My Environment:

• Ubuntu 20.04
  • emacs 27.2 (self-compiled)
  • spacemacs (latest develop 5b3786f)
  • org-roam v2 ( v2 branch f20291f)
  • org-roam-bibtex (org-roam-v2 branch c7f7cb0)

Note: Both branches in org-roam and org-roam-bibtex will be merged to master and also available on MELPA in the near future.

Steps

Preparation

• emacs 27.2 should be installed
  • spacemacs should be installed

Install org-roam

1. Clone the source

• I cloned it to ~/.emacs.d/private/org-roam. You can choose wherever.
    • Check out v2
  2. Configuration under dotspacemacs/user-config (taken from The Org-roam v2 Great Migration)

(use-package org-roam
    :load-path "/root/org-roam"
    :custom
    (org-roam-directory "~/.emacs.d/private/org-roam") ; replace with your path
    :bind (("C-c n l" . org-roam-buffer-toggle)
           ("C-c n f" . org-roam-node-find))
    ; global-page-break-lines-mode will break the org-roam buffer
    :hook ( org-roam-mode . (lambda () (global-page-break-lines-mode -1)))
    :config
    (org-roam-setup))
  1. Install magit (required for org-roam v2)
    • Enable git under dotspacemacs-configuration-layers
  2. Reload configuration: SPC f e R or restart emacs
  3. Verify org-roam is working properly
    • M-x org-roam-version should return 2.0.0
    • M-x org-roam-node-find can create notes
    • M-x org-roam-insert can create links to other notes