Calling `org-ref-open-bibtex-notes` triggers "Which function for creating the link" question

Hi all,

First, a non-perfunctory thanks to everyone contributing to this project. I’m quite new to this but so far I’m having a blast.

Whenever I try to create a new org-roam note from a .bib file, using org-ref-open-bibtex-notes, I’m asked the question “Which function for creating the link?”. The options are org-ref-bibtex-store-link and org-bibtex-store-link. Has anyone else encountered this behavior?

From what I can tell, this question is being asked by org-store-link, which is being called by orb-notes-fn at some point—org-ref-open-bibtex-notes is calling org-ref-notes-function, which org-roam-bibtex sets to orb-notes-fn. I know very little Elisp, but from going over the definitions of the relevant functions I couldn’t figure out why this choice between the two *-store-link functions is coming in. I just want to be able to answer that question once and for all.

(I tried setting up org-ref without org-roam-bibtex but I failed, so it could be that the issue has nothing to do with org-roam-bibtex, in which case I apologize.)

Hi @apc, welcome!

I cannot reproduce this behaviour. Typing M-x org-ref-open-bibtex-notes when in a record in a .bib file brings up Org Roam note creation dialog.

orb-note-fn does not call org-store-link, it calls org-ref-find-bibliography. The first thing the latter does is checking whether you are in a .bib file, and if you are, returns that filename and exits.

Are you sure you’re calling org-ref-open-bibtex-notes and not something else, for example with a default keychord that has been rebound to something else?

You can also try M-x org-ref-bibtex-hydra/body and then choose n: Open notes - it should run the same function.

Thanks!

Yes, I’m sure I’m calling org-ref-open-bibtex-notes. Running M-x org-ref-bibtex-hydra/body and then n also asks me to pick a function.