Maximum number of notes

Forgive me please: I am completely new to emacs and org-mode.
Can org-mode handle a very large number of notes? I have on mind more than a million.
Also, forgive if the question seems stupid but I could not find this question anywhere.

1 Like

In theory, no number limits; as many as your storage can hold — after all, notes are text files.

Org mode’s performance would be more dependent on the size of each file than the number of files.You would access a file one by one and wouldn’t access million files at the same time.

For Org-roam, which is based on a database, there seems to be a practical limit of numbers. Some people have reported that (either on Slack or GitHub; source lost) having 40K notes has degraded performance.

So org-mode may be better for handling larger amount of files?

Better than what?

Than org-roam

It may well be the case, but I cannot jump onto that conclusion. What would you like to determine by asking this question? Perhaps you could explain a bit more of your context and motivation to help us understand where you would like to get to.

Let me explain and ask these two questions:

1. Can Org-roam handle a very large number of notes when the number exceeds a million?

2. Can Org mode handle a very large number of notes when the number exceeds a million?

My issues in answering these questions are as follows:

1. I can’t answer the second question above for Org mode because I don’t know what it means for Org mode to “handle” a large number of notes.
    When you use Org mode, you open a single file and then Emacs turns on Org mode. I am not sure if you can get Org mode to “handle” multiple files at the same time like Org-roam does with using the database. When you open a note with using Org-roam, Emacs turns on Org mode. I am not sure if I can compare the two in this case.

2. The premise of having a million files does not seem reasonable for a personal knowledge management tool.