How to understand the bibtex + search options?

As an Emacs beginner, I am having trouble understanding how the packages helm, ivy, deft, and company relate to org-roam and bibtex. I have seen config and workflow descriptions that refer to all of these packages. They seem to have overlapping functionality with both search and auto-complete. I cannot tell which are optional for org-roam and org-roam-bibtex to work and which are necessary. I take it that search can be done in different ways, and there is an element of personal preference here, but what are the differences and trade-offs? Which are required for searching or inserting different types of links or backlinks, different types of capture and template definitions, and different ways of finding and navigating notes? Thanks for providing some context.

Helm and ivy are both completion frameworks that are used for command completion, etc. One typically chooses one or the other to use in one’s Emacs config. I don’t believe doing so is required for ORB, but I do recommend it.

In part, you should do so because there are packages that provide extensions to both: helm-bibtex and ivy-bibtex. Each of those is a frontend for a more general bibtex-completion package.

I’m pretty sure they’re functionality equivalent, so just a question of helm vs ivy.

Company provides completion within the buffer. This is optional in ORB.

Deft is just a general interface for search org files.

@bruce, I appreciate your response. Unfortunately, it assumes more knowledge than I currently have and is thus not at a level that I can follow.

How is a completion framework similar to or different from a search function?